Deadline Extended–Lucky You!

We’re so psyched to launch our call for submissions for the 2009-2011 M.I.A. Art & Literary Series Anthology–our very first publishing endeavor! We are asking all M.I.A. performers, from Hawaii and the mainland, to submit work to miaseries@gmail.com for consideration in the anthology. Because we want to include 2011 in the book, we are extending the DEADLINE to DEC. 31, 2011, at midnight.

What were are looking for:

Poetry: Please send 4-5 pages of poetry. This can be work that was read at any M.I.A. event or conceived at any M.I.A. Summer Hiatus Artist Session. If you have performed at M.I.A. previously, we will also consider your new work.

Fiction: Please send 2-12 pages of fiction. This can be work that was read at any M.I.A. event or conceived at any M.I.A. Summer Hiatus Artist Session. If you have performed at M.I.A. previously, we will also consider your new work.

Essays: Please send 2-10 pages of memoir, or any other sort of essay having to do with your participation with M.I.A., local communities, and the arts.

Photos: Please send 1-4 high resolution photos of any subject centered around the M.I.A. Art & Literary Series. These can be photos of the events, but also photos that make a call to the artistic community in Honolulu.

Letters: We are looking for “letters to the editor” as well, which talk about any relevant issues regarding artistic communities in Hawaii.

In the subject of the email use the following format: LAST NAME, FIRST NAME, GENRE, M.I.A. DATE YOU PERFORMED (if applicable)

Submit your work as rtf. doc. docx. or jpeg. files. Although we’d love to publish the work you’ve read at an M.I.A. event exclusively, we are also considering new work as well. Also note that if you’ve attended one of the Summer Hiatus Artist Sessions and have produced work you would like M.I.A. to consider for the anthology, please feel free to submit.

If you haven’t performed at M.I.A. but are an avid M.I.A. goer or community member, we’d also love to hear from you–so make sure you get involved before 2012!

Looking forward to reading all of your work!

Author: Mixing Innovative Arts

We are a monthly literary event series featuring local, national, and international writers and artists.

One thought on “Deadline Extended–Lucky You!”

Comments are closed.